Nominations are open for the Lord Ferrers awards celebrating police volunteers


Policing and Fire Minister Nick Hurd launched the 24th annual Lord Ferrers Awards to recognise the outstanding contribution of special constables, police support volunteers and volunteer police cadets.

This year a new category has been introduced for Technical Innovation, to encourage recognition of ‘cyber specials’ and those volunteers using technology creatively to combat the changing nature of crime.

Last year 296 almost 300 nominations were submitted by police forces across England and Wales, and for the first time, members of the public could also recommend volunteers for their service, 43 exceptional candidates were shortlisted.

Policing and Fire Minister, Nick Hurd said: “Policing has a long and proud history of volunteers and the Lord Ferrers Awards are an opportunity to recognise and celebrate their achievements.

“Every day special constables, police support volunteers and volunteer police cadets make a selfless contribution to tackling crime and supporting police forces.

“I urge police officers and members of the public to nominate police volunteers who they think have made an outstanding contribution to their communities for an award.”

The award ceremony, sponsored by Police Mutual, will take place in central London in November 2017. Winners will be presented with their awards by Home Officer Ministers, senior officials and Chief Police Officers.

The closing date for nominations is midnight on Sunday 17th September.

Award categories

Please choose what you think is the most suitable category from the list below. Don’t worry if you’re not sure which category to choose, the Home Office will make sure the nominee is considered for the most appropriate award:

Ferrers Special Constabulary: individual or team award
Police Support Volunteer: individual or team award
Volunteer Police Cadet: individual or team award
Employer Supported Policing Award: recognises organisations that support their employees to volunteer in policing and includes those accredited under the Community Safety Accreditation Scheme
Leadership Award (sponsored by the Association of Special Constabulary Chief Officers): for individual special constables who have demonstrated a significant and sustained contribution to leadership
A new category for Technical Innovation Award this year – Team or Individual: Open to Special Constables, Police Support Volunteers or Volunteer Police Cadets. The award recognises the contribution volunteers can bring to using IT and technology to support policing, to encourage recognition of ‘cyber specials’ and those volunteers using technology creatively.

Make your nomination

The deadline for nominations is Sunday 17th September. Use the online form here.

Give as much information on what the nominee has achieved as you can. Please be aware that:

you can nominate once per application and you can make more than one application
the Home Office can’t accept ‘self’ nominations from individuals or teams
the Home Office can’t shortlist nominations where long service, extra hours or bravery are the sole case for nomination as these are recognised by other awards

If you have any questions or are unable to submit an online application, please email the Home Office at

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.